Emre Yaksi CV


2007                PhD: Disputation date: 27.07.2007.

                        University of Heidelberg, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany

2003                M.Sc.

                        University of Heidelberg, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany

2001                Bsc

                        Middle East Technical University, Turkey



Since 2017      Current Position

                        Professor, Kavli Institute for Systems neuroscience, NTNU, Trondheim, Norway

                        Director of the NTNU Master program in Neuroscience

2015 – 2017    Associate Professor, Kavli Institute for Systems neuroscience, NTNU, Trondheim, Norway

2011- 2016     Assistant Professor, Faculty of Medicine, Dept. of Neurophysiology, KULeuven, Belgium

2010 -2016     Group Leader, Neuroelectronics Research Flanders, VIB, Belgium

2013 -2014     Interim Department Director, Neuroelectronics Research Flanders, VIB, Belgium

2007- 2010     Post-doctoral Researcher, Harvard Medical School, Department of Neurobiology, USA



2016                Mid-Norway regional health authorities research grant (8M NOK)

2015               Norwegian research council FRIPRO BIOMED young talent grant (7M NOK)

2015               Association for Chemoreception Sciences (AChemS) Young investigator award 2015

2014               Selected for FENS/Kavli Network of Excellence

2014               Federation of European Neuroscience Young Investigator Prize 2014

2013               European Research Commission (ERC) starting investigator grant (1.5M Euros)

2008-2010:     Human Frontiers Science Program, Long-term Postdoctoral Fellowship, USA

2006                Marine Biological Laboratories, Neural Systems & Behavior Summer Course, USA

2003-2006       Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds Fellowship, Heidelberg, Germany

2002-2003       Scholarship of Max Planck Society, Heidelberg, Germany

2001-2002       Msc Scholarship of DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service), Germany

1996-2001       Scholarship of TUBITAK (Turkish Science & Technology Association), Turkey




  • Starting November 2017: Dr Laetitia Lalla
  • Since September 2017: Dr Daniela Weth
  • Since September 2015: Dr Pradeep Lal (Marie Curie Fellowship)
  • Since September 2012: Dr Florence Kermen (Fyssens Fellowship, FIRPRO YI grant)
  • Graduated March 2017: Dr Filip Janiak
  • Graduated June 2015: Dr Cameron Wyatt (AXA Postdoctoral Fellowship)
  • Graduated June 2013: Dr Elena Dreosti (Sir Henry Wellcome Fellowships)


PhD Students 

  • Since January 2017: Sverre Myren-Svelstad (samarbeidsorganet – Helse Midt-Norge)
  • Since February 2015: Robrecht Pelgrims
  • Since January 2015: Ewelina Bartoszek
  • Since September 2013: Stephanie Fore
  • will graduate Nov 2016: Carmen Verdugo Diaz
  • Graduated October 2016: Luis Mendez Franco (VIB PhD Student Fellowship)
  • Graduated November 2015: Suresh Kumar Jetti (Boehringer Ingelheim Fond Fellowship)
  • Graduated March 2015: Nuria Vendrell Llopis



Since 2017      General Coordinator for the Masters in Neuroscience Program at NTNU

2016                Coordinator for the Masters in Neuroscience Program, Systems Neuroscience course

2013                Teaching and practical training during FLIACT workshop Jena, Marie Curie initial training network

2012-2013      Career guidance and teaching at VIB/NERF/KULeuven PhD School



2012-2013-2014         NERF, Neuro-technology Symposium, organizer

2012                VIB/NERF Neuroscience Summer School, co-organizer

2016                NRSN Summer School for Systems Neuroscience, organizer

2016                Kavli Prize Neuroscience Symposium, co-organizer

2017                FENS/Kavli Network Symposium, co-organizer



2013                Interim Department Director for 1 year

                        Neuroelectronics Research Flanders/ VIB/ Belgium



Referee service: Nature, Nature Methods, Nature Neuroscience, Current Biology, Journal of Neuroscience, Frontiers in Neural Circuits, Neuron, PLOS One, Behavioural Brain Research, EMBO Reports, Journal of Comparative Neurology, BMC Neuroscience,



Since 2015      FENS/Kavli Network of Excellence

Since 2015      Federation of European Neuroscience

Since 2015      Norwegian Neuroscience Society

Since 2016      Society for Neuroscience


Selected invited talks

  • 2017, European Chemoreception Research Organisation Meeting 2017, Cambridge, UK
  • 2017, Center of Advanced European Studies and Research, Bonn, Germany
  • 2017, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • 2017, Center for Regenerative Therapies Dresden (CRTD), Germany
  • 2016, Instituto de Neurociencias de Alicante, Spain
  • 2016, EMBO Workshop on Dendrite anatomy, molecule and function, Heraklion, Crete
  • 2016, Karolinska Institute, Neuroscience Seminars, Stockholm, Sweden
  • 2016, University of Turku, Frontiers in Science Seminars, Turku, Finland
  • 2015, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
  • 2015, Institute of Neuroinformatics, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • 2014, Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology. Munich, Germany
  • 2014, EJN/FENS Young Investigator award lecture, Milan, Italy
  • 2014: IMBA/IMP, Vienna, Austria
  • 2014: RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany
  • 2013: Janelia Farms Research Campus, Ashburn, VA, USA
  • 2013: University of Sussex, Brighton, UK
  • 2013: Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Heidelberg, Germany
  • 2013: IBANGS Genes, Brain & Behaviour 15th Annual Meeting, Leuven, Belgium
  • 2013: TEDx talk, Leuven, Belgium
  • 2013: Faculty of Psychology, Department Symposium, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany
  • 2013: National Institute Genetics, Department Symposium, Mishima, Japan
  • 2013: International Inst. for Advanced Studies (IIAS), Frontiers in Neuroscience, Kyoto, Japan
  • 2012: FLIACT Workshop, “Systems Neuroscience of Drosophila”, Jena, Germany
  • 2012: University of Zurich – Institute of Molecular Life Sciences – Seminars, Zurich, Switzerland
  • 2012: University College London, “Mini-Symposium on Brain Asymmetry”, London, UK